Logo by Chris Mercaldo

Thursday, June 18, 2015

The Neighborhood Archive Podcast

Please check out: www.neighborhoodarchive.com
it's one of my favorite websites. It's the best source for all things Mister Rogers.

I got to chat with my old friend Tim and my new friend Aaron about the episodes of Sesame Street and Mister Rogers Neighborhood where Fred Rogers and Big Bird visited each other's shows.

We also got to discuss the history of Sesame Place and got into a lively debate about what kind of bird Big Bird is. It's a lot of fun! Check it out:

Episode 0027
Tim and Aaron are joined by long-time Neighborhood Archive friend Guy Hutchinson for a fun-filled and inquisitive conversation about cross-over occurrences between Mister Rogers' Neighborhood and Sesame Street as well as Guy's upcoming book Sesame Place -- a look back at the 35 year history of Pennsylvania's Sesame Street theme park.

CLICK HERE TO LISTEN


Wednesday, June 17, 2015

The Ken PD Snydecast

On the newest Ken PD Snydecast Dana Snyder (voice of Master Shake on Aqua Teen Hunger Force) and Ken Plume (author of Zombie in My Treehouse and producer of the documentary Milius) discussed the upcoming Sesame Place Book.

Ken tweeted this photo:


You can hear the podcast here.

The Muppet Cast

The Muppet Cast is the top podcast for fans of Muppets, Sesame Street, Fraggle Rock and all other Henson creations.

I got to do a great interview with Steve who had some great questions about Sesame Place.

Show #252 – May 31, 2015

Guy Hutchinson joins me this week to talk about his new book, a history of Sesame Place. Guy is extremely well-versed in the history of the park, and we talk at length about a wide range of topics (meaning, we got off track a lot!). Guy is also a writer, and the co-host of the Drunk on Disney Podcast, and you should really subscribe and listen to it!

Order the book from Guy directly, and get a rare Sesame Place token to go with it. And Guy will even sign your book for you, too!

We also talked about a YouTube video, “Confessions of a Fun Addict.” Watch it here.

Have you written you Muppet haiku yet? Remember to include the hashtag #muppethaiku and post it for all the world to see! Win yourself a Muppet T-shirt from Studio One (aka “The Muppet Store”) at Disney’s Hollywood Studios!

Thanks for listening! As always, you can email me@muppetcast.com with any comments or questions about the Muppets, The MuppetCast, or anything else. Tweet me @muppetcast, and check out The MuppetCast Facebook page. And make sure to subscribe to The MuppetCast in iTunes!

Have a great week!

Steve

YOU CAN HEAR THE INTERVIEW HERE.



Interview with The Arcade Hunters

I was extremely glad to guest on The Arcade Hunters podcast. I talked about the history of Sesame Place focusing on the Computer Gallery and  the Games Gallery.

Nick and Gerard are a couple of really fun guys and are super knowlegable on theme parks and video games.

Arcade Hunters Podcast Episode 37: "Can you tell me how to get..."

Nick and Gerard are joined by special guest Guy Hutchinson (of Drunk on Disney and Adventure Club! podcast fame) to discuss his new book Sesame Place! Plus a recap of Nick's recent trip to Disney World, Florida gaming laws and Guy's desert island games!

You can hear the interview here.



Sesame Place: A History

I was lucky enough to write a piece about Sesame Place for iloveseaworld.com.

It starts this way:
Sesame Place, one of the SeaWorld Entertainment parks, is a unique theme park located in the town of Langhorne, Pennsylvania.

Langhorne is a convenient drive from Philadelphia (about 35 minutes) and it is very close to New Jersey.  Folks from New York and Connecticut are at the perfect distance to make Sesame Place a weekend destination.

Sesame Place has thrived since 1980 and has grown and changed more than even locals realize.  In the forthcoming book Sesame Place: Images of Modern America (Arcadia Publishing, release date July 6, 2015) Chris Mercaldo and I unravel the story of how Sesame Place grew from a 3 acre “play place” to a 14 acre theme park, complete with a roller coaster and some very impressive water slides.

You can read the rest here.